Many teams across the world have translated and adapted the ACIC.  We've cataloged and made available those we know about here.  If your team has worked with the PACIC and would like us to consider including your version in this list, please contact us.

Version 3.0
Version 3.0 of the ACIC comprises six sections corresponding to the six elements of care in the Chronic Care Model:

  • Health care organization (6 items)
  • Community linkages (3 items)
  • Self management support (4 items)
  • Decision support (4 items)
  • Delivery system design (6 items)
  • Clinical information systems (5 items)

Version 3.0 has been used in multiple Breakthrough Series collaboratives to guide changes teams make in their systems, and data have been published on its sensitivity to changes teams make in their systems (Wagner et al., 2001; Bonomi et al., 2002; Glasgow et al., 2002).

Version 3.5
Version 3.5 of the ACIC includes the same six sub scales as Version 3.0, plus six additional items that address how well a practice team or organization integrates the Chronic Care Model elements - so, for example, whether guidelines are used to inform self-management programs for patients or whether registries are used to perform care functions like routine follow-up.

A note on non-English translated documents on our website
All translated documents have been kindly provided to ICIC by outside authors.  The authors of these instruments have reported to us that they've followed the World Health Organization "Process of translation and adaptation of instruments", which includes forward translation, expert panel back-translation, pre-testing and cognitive interviewing before creating the final version.

Please check the accuracy and applicability of these documents before using them in your clinical practice or research.  Spanish translations may need the addition of alternative terms to accomodate Spanish, Mexican, and South American populations.